About

About

About Nebraska Caucuses

 

What are the Nebraska Caucuses?

The Nebraska Caucuses are organizational gatherings of neighbors, run by the Nebraska Democratic Party (NDP), where Democrats meet to declare their Presidential preference.

When was the first Presidential Nebraska Caucus?

The first Nebraska Caucus took place in 2008, the idea of then National Committeeman Vince Powers who is now the Chair of the Nebraska Democratic Party.  The Caucus gives the Nebraska Democratic Party an opportunity to build the party statewide.

Who can participate in the Caucuses?

Any person who is eligible to vote in the state of Nebraska and will be at least 18 years old on Election Day, November 8, 2016, may participate in the Nebraska Caucuses. They must be a registered Nebraska Democrat or anyone who, prior to or at the Caucus meeting, registers as a Nebraska Democrat.

Can the press attend?

Yes—all caucus locations are open to the public and press.

How do the Democratic Caucuses work?

Eligible caucus goers divide to form Presidential preference groups. If a preference group for a candidate does not have enough people to be considered “viable (15% of attendees),” eligible attendees will have an opportunity to join another preference group (“uncommitted” can be a preference group) or acquire people into their group to become viable. Delegates are then awarded to the preference groups based on their size.

Caucus Location

The location of the Caucus is established by the local county party.

County Parties should decide how they will Caucus (Precinct, LD, or County) and begin booking sites as soon as possible.  The Caucus will take place on March 5, 2016 between 10:00a.m. CST, 9:00 a.m. MST and 8:00 p.m. CST, 7:00 p.m. MST.  Each County will set the time of the County Caucus.

 

/* ]]> */